I feel the need for a rant!!
My older 2 children live with me and not their dad, therefore he is required to pay some sort of financial assistance for them. In the past he has, however for a year he has not paid any money.
I use the CSA and don't always agree with their actions and they have not managed to get my ex to pay any money either, which makes you wonder why they exist!
Now, let me say, my financial situation is my responsibility, we are not well off, we get by with few treats for the kids, but I chose to have 2 more children, and it is not financially viable for me to go back to work, plus I like being at home with the children. Until 3 years ago I had worked hard in my career and was running the sales department of UKs largest BTL mortgage broker. I have always provided for my children, I have never recieved any benefit payment, but I do expect their dad to pay his fair share.
The childrens dad is the director of his own company, and therefore claims to earn the minimum to avoid paying tax, I don't blame him for doing this, if their is a loophole then naturally it will be exploited. This means the CSA have said he should pay £2.50 per week per child! Bloody ridiculous. Also, he does not have to pay arrears as he earns so little.
This poor man who earns so little has just sent one of his older children skiing abroad with school for the week, in the past year he has been abroad himself for holidays in Mexico, las Vegas and New York. He lives in a large modern house, drives nice cars, and leads a decent life. Yet claims to have no money to pay.
If running his own business pays so little, why not get a job that does pay?
It costs a lot to provide the basics for the kids. School uniform and school shoes are a huge cost, and as the children have got bigger so have their appetites!
Despite the CSA ruling, I believe their dad is in the wrong. He coud say stuff the CSA, I am a responsible dad and I will pay for my children no matter what. He could write out a cheque anytime he feels like it, but he choses not to. It doesn't matter what excuse he gives, ultimatley it is his choice.
I just don't get it, how can someone live with themselves with no guilt whilst holidaying abroad in the new year, and not even bother to pay for their kids?
It does drive me mad, the CSA can enforce rules, but often I don't think they do use their full powers. If you miss any bill payment, you can get a CCJ, and taken to court to ensure you pay, yet any parents most important bill and it is not paid.
I am not some mad moaning mum, I understand everyone situation is different, and I am also not apportioning blame on all dads, mums can be equally bad, it is just some parents feel they just don't have to pay for their kids for reasons I will never understand.
I don't want a lot of money. There should be a minimum cost payable regardless of circumstances.
I mean, how much does it cost to feed 1 child for 1 year, and I really do mean a minimum amount for a child to eat healthily for 1 year. How much does it cost to clothe a child for 1 year, no designer labels, just basic clothes, basic uniform, sensible shoes etc. If this is worked out, this should form the basis to start making payments, everything else should be a bonus.
I think my rant is nearly over, I would love to hear your views and your stories too.
No comments:
Post a Comment